When your users chat with you from the Crisp chatbox, or send an email to Crisp, most of the time you can see a picture of them appearing in the conversation, with their full name, social biography and social profiles. It does seem like magic, but how does Crisp detect this data?

When encountering a new visitor email, Crisp attempts to auto-detect user information from public sources (Google, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, etc.). This set of independent data is then aggregated and makes up a guessed user profile.

An enriched user profile in a conversation

How does it work?

Crisp uses Enrich. You can see the data points that are returned by Enrich systems to Crisp systems in the Enrich API docs.

If you feel the Crisp enrichment feature something stopped working for no reason, you can still check the Enrich Status Page and check if everything is green (ie. up and working) there.

Please note that Crisp does not share any private data with Enrich; Enrich is used as an independent, external system and is only fed the emails of your users (if the feature is enabled in your Crisp settings). Enrich then discovers your user information from external sources (ie. data sources where your users willingly filled their public social profiles). You can confirm our use of Enrich by browsing Enrich API docs and reviewing what Enrich takes in, and gives out.

As this information is discovered and aggregated by an automated system, it might not be 100% accurate. For approximately 5% of your users, you may see incorrect information such as incorrect social profiles, or incorrect avatar (ie. it mixes it up with someone of the same name). The full name is correctly detected in 99% of the cases.

How to disable the enrichment feature?

If you don't like the user profile enrichment feature (which is enabled by default), you can still disable it in your Crisp settings, on a per-website basis.

Here's how to proceed:

Login to: https://app.crisp.chat/
Go to your website settings: click on the settings icon on the left sidebar, then click on "Websites" and select the target website in the list
Select "Chatbox & Emails settings"
Open "Email settings"
Disable "Enrich contact profiles using their email"
The enrichment feature is now disabled for your website (you can still re-enable it later on)

Disable the "Enrich contact profiles" option in your settings

How can I opt-out of enrichments on my email?

You may use the Enrich Claim service to opt-out from further enrichments on your email address, and remove any data Enrich stores on you.
Was this article helpful?
Thank you!